Skip to product information
1 of 1

Tapspace Publications

Canvas Series, The

Canvas Series, The

Item no.: TSPB-41

Regular price €25,95 EUR
Regular price Sale price €25,95 EUR
Sale Sold out
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

by Patrick McLaughlin

Patrick McLaughlin’s The Canvas Series is a unique collection of snare drum solos, where the subject of each solo is a famous painter of the 20th century. In his own creative way, McLaughlin uses the snare drum as a canvas to paint a portrait of each of the eight artists and their work. For example, in No. 3: Vincent van Gogh, McLaughlin uses soft buzz rolls within a slow tempo to depict Van Gogh painting in a breezy, picturesque field on a warm spring day. In No. 8: Salvador Dalí, he uses sharp and angular rhythms with disjunct accents to depict Dalí’s surreal and strange paintings. Much like the subjects of McLaughlin’s solos, this collection is one-of-a-kind. Each solo will add a level of introspection to any recital program or individual study.

Included in this collection:

  • No. 1: M.C. Escher 
  • No. 2: Henri Matisse 
  • No. 3: Vincent van Gogh
  • No. 4: Pablo Picasso
  • No. 5: Andy Warhol
  • No. 6: Claude Monet
  • No. 7: Jackson Pollock
  • No. 8: Salvador Dalí

The Canvas Series ships as a fully-bound book with a beautifully designed cover, reminiscent of Van Gogh’s Starry Night and Monet’s Water Lilies

View full details