Skip to product information
1 of 1

Tapspace Publications

Sequential Studies (Book 2)

Sequential Studies (Book 2)

Item no.: TSPB-43

Regular price €32,50 EUR
Regular price Sale price €32,50 EUR
Sale Sold out
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

by Julia Gaines

Julia Gaines’ Sequential Studies for Four-Mallet Marimba (Book 2) continues the pedagogical quest to produce well-rounded, musical marimbists. In this more streamlined and niche volume, Julia focuses on a specific performance style that is idiomatic to the marimba: the chorale. This book contains 20 individual lessons, with the goal of producing beautiful, lush, and above all, smooth rolls.

In keeping with the form of Sequential Studies (Book 1), Book 2 features 8 solos of varying musical style with original compositions by Julia Gaines, Tracy Thomas, Larry Lawless, Jamieson Carr, and Rob Green. Also included are classical arrangements by Brian Tate who also contributed to the book as an editor. Each solo is a practical application of the lessons that precede it and provides a musical context for the student to hone their technique.

Any developing marimbist would find the 20 lessons and 8 solos to be hugely beneficial and would find themselves to be a much more musical and technically proficient player!

This 96-page book has a coil binding for convenient reading, and ships as a hard copy with a beautiful, full-color cover.

View full details